Log in:
Register Now! It's FREE!
Members click here to Sign In!

News
RECENT ANNOUNCEMENTS
Post new topic

everyone wants my bank acount ... (who falls for this shit)

RealPoor.com » RealPoor General Talk » General Badass
 Goto page 1, 2   Next
 
Author
 
 
Message
 
Posted: 07/06/04 - 11:40
Report abuse 
RealPoor Guru
Brash
Joined: 20 Oct 2002
Posts: 3713
 
Dear Wells Fargo account holder,
We regret to inform you, that we had to block your Wells Fargo account because we have been notified that your account may have been compromised by outside parties.

Our terms and conditions you agreed to state that your account must always be under your control or those you designate at all times. We have noticed some activity related to your account that indicates that other parties may have access and or control of your information in your account.

These parties have in the past been involved with money laundering, illegal drugs, terrorism and various Federal Title 18 violations. In order that you may access your account we must verify your identity by clicking on the link below.

Please be aware that until we can verify your identity
no further access to your account will be allowed and we will have no other liability for your account
or any transactions that may have occurred as a result of your failure to reactivate your account as
instructed below.

Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.

Please follow the link below and renew your account information

https://online.wellsfargo.com/cgi-bin/signon.cgi

Before you reactivate your account,
all payments have been frozen, and you will not be able to use your account in any way
until we have verified your identity.


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 11:51
Report abuse 
RealPoor Guru
Frehya
Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 2391
 
hah nice try at "bank language". Not.


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 11:53
Report abuse 
RealPoor Master of Posts
Confused
Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 6731
 
Is this related to that virus that redirects you from certain sites?


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 12:38
Report abuse 
RealPoor Master of Posts
Jakanden
Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 5336
 
To answer the question "Who falls for this shit?" - MANY people. I used to work in the Password dept at AOL and I can tell you people fall for shit like this ALL the time


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 14:53
Report abuse 
atarom

 
that's not really their site that you linked it too?


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 14:54
Report abuse 
RealPoor Jedi
Paco
Joined: 13 Oct 2002
Posts: 12380
 
atarom wrote:
that's not really their site that you linked it too?


maybe there's some retards here that will try it


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 14:57
Report abuse 
atarom

 
i typed in LOLfuckyouguys and hahahahah for the pw and it didnt let me in.,


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 14:59
Report abuse 
atarom

 
seroiusly it seems like even though i entered real looking made up numbers it still wont take em.

i dont think they'd be turning down info.


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 15:04
Report abuse 
RealPoor Master of Posts
Confused
Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 6731
 
I don't get it. WellsFargo.com belongs to Wells Fargo. It's not a fake site. Unless the email was html and had a different link underneath the one you posted or it takes advantage of that virus that forwards internet explorer urls to that server in Russia, this really makes no sense.


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 15:54
Report abuse 
atarom

 
that's what i'm sayin


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 15:55
Report abuse 
RealPoor Master of Posts
sinrakin
Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 6094
 
Confused wrote:
I don't get it. WellsFargo.com belongs to Wells Fargo. It's not a fake site. Unless the email was html and had a different link underneath the one you posted or it takes advantage of that virus that forwards internet explorer urls to that server in Russia, this really makes no sense.

That's exactly what it does. Well, not using a virus, but it displays a name that looks like a valid link, but the target of the link is another site - you can see on the bottom line of your browser where it's really going.


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 16:06
Report abuse 
atarom

 
oh so there's different html in the actual email.

i get it lol

i was like wtf that's their site...


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 16:08
Report abuse 
RealPoor Master of Posts
Nictathan
Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 5155
 
Yeah, I was confused too for a bit til I thought about that.


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 16:14
Report abuse 
RealPoor Master of Posts
Confused
Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 6731
 
Nictathan wrote:
Yeah, I was confused too for a bit til I thought about that.

YOU WILL NEVER BE CONFUSED!!!


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 16:32
Report abuse 
RealPoor Master of Posts
Nictathan
Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 5155
 
Confused wrote:
Nictathan wrote:
Yeah, I was confused too for a bit til I thought about that.

YOU WILL NEVER BE CONFUSED!!!


I can be if I want to be


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 18:35
Report abuse 
RealPoor Guru
Brash
Joined: 20 Oct 2002
Posts: 3713
 
atarom wrote:
seroiusly it seems like even though i entered real looking made up numbers it still wont take em.

i dont think they'd be turning down info.


lol i dont even have a wells fargo acount .


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 18:38
Report abuse 
RealPoor Guru
Brash
Joined: 20 Oct 2002
Posts: 3713
 
big difference between "online.wellsfargo.com" and "wellsfargo.com"


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 18:41
Report abuse 
RealPoor Guru
Overon
Joined: 14 Oct 2002
Posts: 3315
 
Quote:
These parties have in the past been involved with money laundering, illegal drugs, terrorism and various Federal Title 18 violations. In order that you may access your account we must verify your identity by clicking on the link below.


damn .. the guys stealing your $ are launderers, drug dealers AND terrorists

i would definitely commend them for being able to steal your $ and still have time to spend it with their busy schedules


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 18:42
Report abuse 
RealPoor Guru
Overon
Joined: 14 Oct 2002
Posts: 3315
 
Brash wrote:
big difference between "online.wellsfargo.com" and "wellsfargo.com"


.. no there really isnt Smile


Reply with quote
Posted: 07/06/04 - 19:14
Report abuse 
RealPoor Master of Posts
Confused
Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 6731
 
Brash wrote:
big difference between "online.wellsfargo.com" and "wellsfargo.com"

No difference. Wells Fargo controls where both of those point. What url actually comes up when you click the link in your email?


Reply with quote

Post new topic
 
MY NAVIGATOR
 
 
Newsletter
 

Subscribe to FREE monthly RealPoor.com newsletter.

RealPoor.com » RealPoor General Talk » General Badass
 Goto page 1, 2  Next
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum